Conservation Commission

Requirements of Conservation Commissioners are outlined in the Constitution of Missouri, Section 40 (a):

  • Four members appointed by the governor, by and with the advice and consent of the Senate, not more than two of whom shall be of the same political party.
  • Members shall have knowledge of and interest in wildlife conservation.
  • Serve a term of six years beginning on the first day of July of consecutive odd years.
  • Members shall receive no salary or other compensation, but shall receive reimbursement for travel and other expenses.

Responsibilities carried out by Conservation Commissioners are statewide and include actions such as:

  • Appointing a director of the Department.
  • Serving as the Department’s policy makers.
  • Approving Wildlife Code regulations.
  • Strategic planning.
  • Budget development and major expenditure decisions.

Conservation Meetings and Actions

What happened at the last conservation commission meeting? Find meeting summaries for the last two years here.

Read more

Current Conservation Commissioners

Meet the four-member Conservation Commission. They are responsible for appointing the Department's director, serving as policy makers, approving wildlife code regulations, strategic planning, budget development and major expenditure decisions.

Read more

Internal Expenditure Plans

The Missouri Department of Conservation’s budget is focused on advancing conservation activities that help fulfill the Department’s mission, vision and goals which allows us to take a strategic 36-month approach on top conservation priorities.

Read more

Shortened URL