Current Conservation Commissioners

Meet the four-member Conservation Commission. They are responsible for appointing the Department's director, serving as policy makers, approving wildlife code regulations, strategic planning, budget development and major expenditure decisions.

Marilynn J. Bradford, Jefferson City, Chair

(Independent—term expires July 1, 2019) Marilynn J. Bradford, CommissionerBradford is a central Missouri native with a lifelong interest in the outdoors and a proven commitment to public service, having retired from more than 20 years in state government, working primarily in community and public relations.

Read more

David W. Murphy, Columbia, Vice Chair

(Democrat—term expires July 1, 2019)David W. Murphy Murphy is a native of Lewis County who has spent much time hunting, fishing and farming with his family in northeast Missouri. In 2013, he retired as executive director of the Conservation Federation of Missouri and prior to that was regional director and field supervisor for the National Wild Turkey Federation. In 2009, Outdoor Life named him as one of the 25 Most Influential People on the Future of Hunting and Fishing.

Read more

James T. Blair, IV, St. Louis, Secretary

Jim Blair, Commissioner(Republican—term expires July 1, 2017) Jim Blair is past president of the Missouri Conservation Heritage Foundation, a current board member for the Conservation Federation of Missouri, and has served on local, state and national committees for Ducks Unlimited. He and his wife, Anna, are avid hunters and outdoor enthusiasts.

Read more

Don C. Bedell, Sikeston, Member

(Republican—term expires July 1, 2021) Mr. Bedell is an accomplished businessman, avid conservationist and enthusiastic sportsman. He is a Life Sponsor of Ducks Unlimited, a Life Member of Quail Unlimited, Inc., a Sustaining Member of the Conservation Federation of Missouri, a Diamond Sponsor of the National Wild Turkey Federation and a Life Member of Safari Club International.  

Read more

Shortened URL