Leaders and Organizational Structure

In 1936, a constitutional amendment approved by Missouri voters created the world's first apolitical, science-based conservation agency with exclusive authority over forests, fish and wildlife. 

The Department has divisions responsible for Administrative Services, Design and Development, Fisheries, Forestry, Human Resources, Outreach and Education, Private Land Services, Protection, Resource Science and Wildlife.

Conservation Meetings and Actions

What happened at the last conservation commission meeting? Find meeting summaries for the last two years here.

Read more

Meet Director Bob Ziehmer

Robert L. Ziehmer believes that citizen input and involvement are critical to conservation. One of his top priorities as Director will be maintaining the citizen confidence and support that have made Missouri a national conservation leader. He serves as the eighth director of the Missouri Department of Conservation since its formation in 1937.

Read more

Meet the Conservation Commission

Meet the four-member Conservation Commission. They are responsible for appointing the Department's director, serving as policy makers, approving wildlife code regulations, strategic planning, budget development and major expenditure decisions.

Read more

Shortened URL